IMG_9710 (1)

Amber Fontenot

Growing up in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania I had a love for science and compassion for animals from an early age. I decided in high school that a career in veterinary medicine would allow me to pursue both passions. After spending 4 years enduring bitterly cold winters while I completed a BS degree in Biology at Gannon University in Erie, PA, I decided I was tired of the snow and ice and moved to sunny Tennessee for veterinary school. I completed my Doctor of Veterinary Medicine degree from the University of Tennessee in 2011. I loved Tennessee and accepted my first job at a wonderful, small animal general practice in Murfreesboro. I worked there for a year and a half until I made the difficult decision to leave the job that I loved and move back home to Pittsburgh to be closer to my family as my mother was battling cancer. I worked in a referral setting doing overnight emergency where I gained invaluable experience and in a general practice where I had the privilege of working with and learning from excellent mentors, all of which has shaped me into the veterinarian I am today. A few years later, I met my husband who was living in Missouri at the time with his 2 daughters. Being the adventurous person that I am, I decided to make yet another move to be closer to them after we got engaged. After working in Missouri for almost 4 years and adding a daughter and a son to our family, we decided to make a final move to Louisiana to be closer to my husband’s parents.

When I interviewed at Gill Bright Animal Hospital I knew this was where I wanted to work because the doctors strive to perform high-quality medicine, the employees work as a team, and the staff all enjoy their careers as much as I do. I am so excited to make Lake Charles home, to set down roots for our kids, and to live in an area where people can actually pronounce our last name correctly!

My professional interests include preventative care, dermatology, dentistry, and internal medicine. I love meeting new people and their pets, I enjoy talking to clients and helping them to understand basic preventative care as well as more complicated medical conditions. Between working and raising kids, free time can be scarce but on my days off I enjoy family time, going out to dinner with my husband, outside activities, walking my 2 dogs, exercising, traveling, and attending mass.